The CI, TDD and OO Love Triangle

I would not describe myself as a purist in any aspect of my life, least of all my software engineering practices. I’ve been re-establishing myself as a coder after a long while in the more abstract realms of architecture and design, and on the return-path I’m seeing things in a somewhat different light, and I think it’s an interesting observation hence this post.

thinker
Object Orientation was an approach I previously adopted to partition my problem-space into a group of components – so I could start hacking, rather than putting on the ‘everything is an object and so is its mother’ spectacles. I never quite got my head around why colleagues and ‘real developers’ would sit for hours debating the 99th level of object decomposition and whether an object had to be so fine-grained it should actually contain no code?

My return journey to the world of software development has intersected with new (I say ‘new’ given I was a full-on hacker in the mid 90’s so this is new to me) and emerging trends around Continuous Integration and Test Driven Development and I have to say these intersections have made a huge impression on me to the extent that I’m now passionate about the benefit brought about by these techniques. Maybe I’m so pro-CI and pro-TDD because I lived through the appalling software engineering practices of the 80’s and early 90’s, or may be it’s just because it makes so…much…sense.

So to my point. Continuous Integration has a simple benefit. You know when your code-base has been tainted. The more frequently you get to know that the better. I’ll avoid quoting the scientists who waffle about cost exponentials for fixing defects today versus tomorrow blah. No – it just…makes….so….much….sense ! I didn’t need a PhD in chin rubbing to work that out.

Next Test-Driven Development. Right this one took time, just a little time to get my head around, even though I was convinced that CI was the way to go no questions asked. I found myself asking the stereotypical questions like “won’t I be 50% productive if I spend half my time writing tests for the code I am writing?”. Let me just pause while I give myself 10 lashes for being so narrow-minded. THWACK, THWACK, THWACK, THWACK, THWACK, THWACK, THWACK, THWACK, THWACK, THWACK…and one for luck THHHHHWACK!!  So it’s a natural inclination to feel like test-cases are just code that you’d traditionally throw into the code-base, but when you consider the fact that you’re actually building inherent certainty into the code-base at every step of the way the lightbulb goes on in a big way. When I sat back and appreciated that I wouldn’t have to run huge amounts of code to verify and exercise a small method I just changed it….just….makes….so…much….sense. All the regression testing scenarios I was carrying round in my head ! The lack of repeatability in my approach to testing !! The gradual feeling of dread that I’d become used-to, after deploying a stable version of code, in case I had to, god-forbid, change it at some point??! It all cries out for an inherent approach that means you lock-down every function you implement as you implement it – such that you can purge all that baggage from your poor little cranial-walnut. It….just….makes….so….much…sense. I was soon a TDD convert, but only at that point did it strike me like a bolt from the blue…finally my life made sense….finally I could truly embrace the love-triangle of CI->TDD->OO.

The effectiveness of my CI/TDD regime relied totally on the level of granularity I could descend to with my class definitions, and the simplification of each and every function to it’s thinnest possible form.  Real fundamental Object Orientation finally became the underpinning foundation – notice I place it in that underpinning role – as I’ve only now seen OO as an enabler for the ‘common-sense’ and ‘value-adding’ techniques of CI and TDD. I’m a little weird that way – but I found my way into rigorous OO not via the brain-washing from the chin-rubbing ranks of “my object is more objecty than yours” brigade, but instead through the simple realisation that I can squeeze ever more value from my CI/TDD framework if I force my test-cases into finer and finer levels of granularity (within reason of course, I aint lost my roots yet !! )

So there you have. CI drives me to TDD. TDD drives me to appreciate why OO should exist, NOT vice versa…

Leave a Reply

